WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Where Web 2.0 Went Wrong Part 1 (2/7)

Posted by sydneyb612 on April 30, 2017

First off I would like to say that the statistic of people seeing three thousand to five thousand adds a day is insane. I never really notice much about adds because whether I’m scrolling through Facebook or just watching TV I usually just ignore or scroll through ads and don’t even think about them twice. Anyways I read the article “The Value of Consumer Recommendation”. I liked this article because it was very personal to the authors real life experiences which was refreshing to read. Now days when you read article like that it is all just facts and statistics, which gets boring after a while. Hearing stories and personal accounts makes the consumer want to read more. I liked when she told the story about her Uncle Joe that was a nice touch. As I consumer when I buy stuff online or watch something or buy a certain name brand product I will not post about it online or do a review I usually spread it by word of mouth, which in this day in age does not do much. Now as a consumer I do read other people reviews and recommendations online which is some of what the author talked about. How reliable are these reviews and recommendations? I honestly could not tell you. Do I believe most of the reviews I read? The answer is yes. Why am I so trusting and should I be? I do not know. I do think people should be me aware of reviews and recommendations online.

One Response to “Where Web 2.0 Went Wrong Part 1 (2/7)”

  1. As i think about this I would definitely say we see that many ads without a doubt. Whether we are in a car, on our phones, or at an event ads are everywhere in our faces

Leave a Reply

 
