WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Ham4Ham (extra credit)

Posted by vene131 on April 27, 2017

 hamilton lin manuel miranda grammys 2016 latino people hispanic people GIFBefore I ever knew about this being an extra credit opportunity, I knew that I was going to this talk because HAMILTON. I live for Hamilton. I listen to the soundtrack almost every day (gotta make time for Moana, ya know?) Either way I knew this talk was going to be very lit as the kids say.

One thing that stood oImage result for talk less smile more gifut to me was this notion of performance, and how a lot of historical musicals like Hamilton upfront tell you not to trust the narrative. Musicals like Hamilton keep some of the historical accuracy, but makes sure you know to question the performance. One example of that would be the song The Room Where it Happened. Listen guys, I am in fact a Burr. I am proud of the fact that I am a Burr. I mean, this is the most me thing I have ever seen. So when she explained how this song is literally telling the audience that they cannot trust what is going on and Related imagethat they should question is I was right there with her just silently clapping in my head. The Room Where it Happened is Burr talking about how no one actually knows what happens in these private meetings between political figures except the figures that were there. So this tells us as an audience that yes people can tell us what they think happened in history, but the truth is most of the time we don’t actually happened. “We just assumed that it happens” because “no one else was in the room where it happened” as the great Lin Manuel Miranda once said.

Image result for i[m erasing myself from the narrative gifAnother example she used was with the song Burn. Burn is literally made up. No one actually knows what Eliza Hamilton’s feeling were when Alexander published the Reynolds’s Pamphlet letting everyone know he was a cheating hoe. All we do know if what we think a wife would react to in this situation. So the song Burn is just Eliza burning all the letters Alexander wrote to her and basically solidifying that she no longer wants part in his narrative. However, I think that’s the main point of Hamilton. Yes, it tells the story of our founding fathers but it tells us the story in a way that makes the audience question everything that’s happening; and who is to say that isn’t how we should look at history in every sense? We are the one’s telling their story, not them. We do not actually know how these people felt in these situations. What we do know is this– the musical Hamilton is about a young immigrant who worked his way up and left a legacy that is now put back into the narrative of history.

And if you guys wanna watch a bit of the musical they performed at the Tony’s! If you’re wondering why they look like they are supposed to be holding guns it is because they usually do. Unfortunately, the night before the Tony’s the largest shooting against my people in US history happened at the night before, so to honor those who died in Orlando at the Pulse Nightclub the did the performance without them.

But if I am being honest the main lesson really is this:

Related image

2 Responses to “Ham4Ham (extra credit)”

  1. sydneyb612 said

    As some one who has never seen or really knows anything about Hamilton this was very informative. if you did not know what Hamilton was before you for sure know now. I definitely enjoyed your enthusiasm and the clips and pictures. From what I read you should start your own independent blog on Hamilton because I think a lot of people would enjoy that. I love hearing about things people are passionate about. Thanks for sharing.

  2. katemilner9 said

    I think Hamilton has started a really good conversation about fictional adaptations of historical events. As you say, a main theme of the show is not trusting the narrative, and understanding its bias, which is something a lot of medias in its vein neglect to do.

Leave a Reply

 
