WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Conclusion

Posted by marylennoxhalf on April 26, 2017

I cannot believe how fast this semester has gone. We have wrapped up the book! I think I have fully comprehended the points that the book has made, and I really think it made me understand a lot more about media. Before this class, I thought I understood the main uses of spreading media, but I now know how much I had not thought of.

My favorite topic that we discussed, was around the time of the “Bowling Green Massacre.” Although ridiculous, it was perfectly timed with our topic during that time. We saw first hand, how quickly news can be spread. Even though it was not true, everyone heard about it. I loved how Bowling Green as a whole reacted, and it was such an interesting thing to sit back and watch. Although I wish I could go back and have taken this class last semester, during the election, I am so glad I took this class while something as interesting as the massacre was a popular topic.

Another point that I find very interesting is how producer’s of television shows and movies put so much effort into the audience. Even though their efforts could end differently than they want, it is still important to realize all of the work that is going on behind the scenes to encourage audiences to watch. That must cause a ton of stress and anxiety to producers, because if they make a bad move, it could very easily harm their viewings.

Overall, I learned so much about the idea of spreading media, and I know in the future I will be more sensitive to what is going on around me in the media world. From Pepsi commercials to fake news, I now understand all of the steps that can go into spreading media.

Leave a Reply

 
