WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Conclusion

Posted by kaufmansw on April 25, 2017

Since this is the conclusion, I’d like to reflect on what I’ve taken from this class.  Several of these ideas are mentioned in the conclusion anyways but I think it’s important to reflect on what you have learned after a semester of class.  The biggest thing I’ve learned is that the companies who are willing to adapt and put themselves out there are generally a much bigger hit.  As it states in the book though, the more established companies like to play it safe and the up and coming ones with less to lose usually take the chances.  To me this illustrates the American Dream because anyone can put themselves out there with an idea and run with it.

Another thing that I learned this semester that I take for granted is how important media is.  The media is a very powerful tool and if used correctly can be quite beneficial to everyone.  On the other hand, if the media is used incorrectly then there will not be benefits.  I didn’t realize how far media had come in such a short time either.  Back in the day it took a several days potentially weeks for a message to be spread across the country and now it only takes a couple of seconds.  Things such as YouTube have made it easier as well.  The Gangnam Style music video blew up across the world in a matter of hours.  20 years ago a song sang by a guy from South Korea wouldn’t have spread that quickly.  I’m thankful for this class opening my eyes up to what’s going on in the world today.

2 Responses to “Conclusion”

  1. tristendenney14 said

    I agree with you and am very impressed as well with the effects of media today. Media can be so beneficial if used the right way, and I believe it will only become more helpful as time goes on. Also, I really liked your point about YouTube because I use this website so much in my own life, so I feel I personally see the effects this media platform has. Therefore, though media may have a negative connotation if used the wrong way, I can’t wait to see where the media industries and large companies go in the future.

  2. Drake Kizer said

    You made a lot of points that I agree with in the post, especially about how the most important takeaway from this class is how important media is in our everyday lives. Like you said, media is an extremely powerful tool and I don’t think most people, unless they have really studied it or taken a class like this, would even realize that. I think your point about Psy, the “Gangnam Style” guy, was really great. It is definitely true that in a bygone era, there is no way that a South Korean song would top the American music charts. But, since media has advanced so much, today’s media environment allowed that to occur.

Leave a Reply

 
