WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Transnationally

Posted by nasir502nasir on April 20, 2017

I can’t even lie. Before this I had never heard the term “transnational” before today. But thinking on it thinking transnationally is actually interesting and important. I do often wonder how other people from other countries perceive the United States. And why we have certain perceptions of other countries and continents. I also think about how we get these perceptions and how the internet effects this thinking. A lot of our perceptions of people, other countries and cultures come from the internet and what we are told maybe in a history class. So I always wonder do other countries learn about the United States and if so what do they think about us? What do they think about our culture, government, way of living? Do they mock how we talk like we can sometimes mock cultures like French, Chinese, Japanese, Spanish, Latino and such. On another note, in the essay by Ethan Zuckerman, “From Weird to Wide” Zuckerman talks about the power of the internet. Memes are a very popular part of the internet and social media these days such as Facebook and Instagram. Where some memes originate from can be traced and where certain memes are popular depends on the country and things. Memes are so popular now, on Twitter there is a meme calendar. On the meme calendar it shows the most popular memes throughout the year separated by months. There was kind of an uproar of retweets when there was a meme nobody had seen on the meme calendar. This opened my eyes because reading into this more I found that meme was very popular in an African country. So social media can be a lot different in other places or it can be very similar.

3 Responses to “Transnationally”

  1. Kimberlea Ferrell said

    I think about how other cultures view Americans a lot. I even had a conversation with my dad about it when he was mocking Japanese culture. It quickly spiraled from a conversation to him yelling about me being a “snowflake.” It worries me that people in other parts of the world could have such a negative view on us, and that would affect how they treat me. I want to travel, and that makes me self-conscious.

  2. emilychildress329 said

    I agree that I had never heard of the term either. I honestly wondered if it was an actual term. I do, however, agree with the fact that it floors me how the internet can affect some peoples thinking. Internet spreads media so fast, but yet it also has such a huge impact.

  3. cameronbrooks3 said

    I agree. The Internet is just another way to fool people even though the information on it is mostly true, overall what ever happens in daliy life the media will use it as an adventage or against someone.

Leave a Reply

 
