WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Transnational Mediums like Podcasts and TV Shows (April 20th)

Posted by vene131 on April 20, 2017

I think the concept of thinking transnationally got me thinking about all the types of media I consume that are not based in America, and how social media and the internet help make it easier to consume those things. I’ve mentioned before that I love the TV show Merlin. (I am even writing my British Literature final paper on Merlin this semester).  However, there are tons of things I watch or listen to that are not based in America. One that I can think of off the the top of my head would be the podcast Wooden Overcoats.

http://www.woodenovercoats.com/

Image result for We get the body in the coffin in the ground on time

Listen, I have gotten into podcast this last year and hardcore dedicated my life to them, and I think Wooden Overcoats is definitely one of those. It is based in England (the whole cast is English except one who I think is Scottish) and basically about these twins who run their family mortuary on this island and they used to be the only mortuary until Eric Chapman comes into town and ruins everything. So it’s really fun and upbeat (for being about mortuaries) and definitely has a lot of British idioms that I would never know about had I not listened to it.

I think another obvious example would be anime. I don’t watch a lot of anime because I don’t know I guess I haven’t found any that is my jam just yet. But I know from when I used to watch Digimon and Sailor Moon back in the day that it still had a lot of those Japanese elements that you wouldn’t find in American cartoons.

3 Responses to “Transnational Mediums like Podcasts and TV Shows (April 20th)”

  1. jacobkaraglanis said

    I loooove podcasts, I think that they are the coolest things! I have not tried listen to international ones and would have to try out the one you mentioned! Thanks for putting that in your blog post! 🙂

  2. I, too, love the tv show Merlin. This was an interesting post. I had never heard of this podcast before. It was fascinating to learn about; thanks for sharing!!

  3. cameronbrooks3 said

    Nice pictures. I like how you mixed it up and just didn’t write a whole summary of what you learned. It’s nice to read something new and different by using pictures to understand your opinion better.

Leave a Reply

 
