WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Thinking Transnationally part 1

Posted by jasendavis on April 19, 2017

Just imagine living in an area where all media was nationalized. Here in america, that means fewer movies, fewer songs and far too little internet sites to view. I’d imagine it would be very similar to the phenomena seen in China and North Korea. The rest of the world has formed their own online community, but these nations do not participate in them to their full capabilities. This is just one way place of residence can affect ability to participate in the production, consumption and spreading of media. 

I was born in a rural part of Kentucky, and the difference between my connectedness at school and at home is ridiculous. I get no cell phone reception at home, and the internet service is spotty at best. It is incredible to think of, but the smallest difference such as that can have a great effect on media engagement. I can only assume what the effect would have been If I were to have grown up in a country that didn’t have the same infrastructure to support creativity and connection that we are lucky to have in the United States. 
If every person on earth had equal access to the internet and creative means, who knows, maybe Makmende is as big of a deal on America as he is in Nairobi. Maybe, just maybe Chuck Norris doesn’t dominate the bad-ass memes on earth. It’s hard to say for sure (I mean we just talked about the uncertainty principle) what catches on and what doesn’t. There is a language barrier to overcome when it comes to spreading from many countries to the next. However, as is indicated by Li, it is not uncommon for videos and articles to be translated in order to enhance their spreadability. 

4 Responses to “Thinking Transnationally part 1”

  1. emilyjones232 said

    The part where you mentioned the world having access to the internet is really interesting. I wonder what things we could accomplish if the Internet could reach a global audience.

  2. This is very interesting and something to think about. I always think about if I was from another country how would I perceive the United States through media or would I kind of just live life naive to a lot of American culture. Or would I even care? The internet gives us perceptions of other countries that we wouldn’t have otherwise.

  3. marylennoxhalf said

    Very interesting thoughts about cell service and each person’s abilities to these resources. I wonder what the world would be like if someone would be able to allow this to be available to all.

  4. vene131 said

    I grew up in Louisville, so I have never experienced not being connected to the internet. However, I have friends who grew up in small towns. I know this one girl who goes home every weekend and since she lives on a farm she has no access to her email or anything; she talks about how she was really sheltered because of this. It’s wild to think about.

Leave a Reply

 
