WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Independent Media Supporters

Posted by connorfrederick12 on April 17, 2017

Independent media is one of my favorite things that has budded from the internet and media as a whole in the 2010s. Whether it be music, mods for games, entire games, software or anything else for that matter.

If you’ve read my previous blog posts, its easy to tell that I have become an avid gamer over the first 19yrs of my life, from Crash Bandicoot on the origianl PlayStation to Overwatch on PlayStation 4 (I’m an XBox guy though). I’m a fan of Bungie and their games so I decided I wanted to play their big hit before Halo, called Marathon. I later found out that all three of the games were available for free on the internet at a relatively small file size, so I downloaded them and played them through. Not exactly independent media at he source, but it was made available by an independent source. This happens with game mods too. The majority of mods for games are made available for free in databases for a certain game.

Switching to music, we will look at Lil Dicky. Lil Dicky (Dave Burd) is a rapper based out of Philadelphia who started to post his own music videos and music on the internet in the early-mid 2010s. He gained a huge cult following and fans wanted him to make an album, so a GoFundMe was started to raise money for Dicky to produce his album that included features from Rich Homie Quan and Snoop Dogg. To this day, Dicky is still an unsigned, independent artist and you can find his music on Apple Music and Spotify for a price, as well as YouTube and SoundCloud for free. Making it widely available for everyone to listen to.

One Response to “Independent Media Supporters”

  1. kaufmansw said

    I used to play video games all the time too and I can relate to the whole “mod” thing. All of my friends used to download the mods from independent sources to gain a leg up in the game they played.

Leave a Reply

 
