WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Courting Supporters for Independent Media Part 2

Posted by emilychildress329 on April 17, 2017

In the reading that was assigned for tonight I was really invested in the topics. I had not ever really thought about certain things in the way that the book described them, and after reading about them I sat down and thought about how this is applied in spreadable media. For example, something that really caught my attention was the part of certain bands that plan their tour dates around where there music gets the most attention. When it comes to watching videos on youTube or Facebook, I have noticed that many singers that are highly popular I have never heard of. I think this comes into play with this type of scenario. I believe that artists and bands travel to more places that surround the place they originate from because they are the most popular around there. However, if an artist was to come from the United States, they will more than likely have more places to go around here then a band that was formed somewhere else.

I think media is a major topic when it comes to the content of spreadable media. Another thing that I was reminded of when reading tonights chapter was the Apple and U2 album situation that actually caused a lot of controversy. I believe the major reason it caused a lot of people trouble was for the fact that it used up a lot of data that people actually paid to get. If Apple would have chose a different route to get the album launched like a stream video there would not of been that big of a situation.

Leave a comment