WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Courting Supporters For Independent Media part 1

Posted by Kimberlea Ferrell on April 12, 2017

From tonight’s essays, I was mainly interested in two of them. My first favorite was “(Sp)reading Digital Comics.” I was never really into comics as a kid, but I feel like if I was introduced to them then I would have been. I do remember enjoying comic strips in my grandparents’ newspapers sometimes. Now, I have been getting into webcomics. They’re easier to find and read. When I started reading this article I was actually reminded of a webcomic that two story boarders for Steven Universe have created called Neo-kosmos. I’ve been meaning to catch up on it and this was a great reminder. They have their own website for it, as well as a Tumblr page. They always post updates to Twitter, even with links to the beginning for new readers.

The other article I found interesting was “The Use Value of Authors.” When I saw the phrase “authors become genres or brands” I immediately thought of Tim Burton. Most of his movies have a similar feel to them. When you think of Tim Burton you think dark, morbid, sometimes musical. The whole style and feel of his creations are attributed to his name. This article also made me realize how important the whole “from the people who brought you” thing in movie trailers is. It creates this message of ‘if you liked this thing, you’ll also like this new one because the same people are working on it.’ You love the previous creation and trust those creators to make something new that will be just as good.

I’m going to do a bit of spreading myself, and leave the link for the Neo-kosmos website here for anyone that might be interested. It’s about kids in space raised by aliens. What more could you want?

http://www.neo-kosmos.com/

One Response to “Courting Supporters For Independent Media part 1”

  1. nathanpowers22 said

    Tim Burton is indeed a great example of “authors becom[ing] genres or brands.” In a way, there’s a sort of interconnection with other authors as well. Think about how many Burton movies also feature both Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter as leading characters. You also see a similar phenomenon with Judd Apatow (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Casting_in_Judd_Apatow_films) and Kevin Smith (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Casting_in_Kevin_Smith_films).

Leave a Reply

 
