WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Responsible Circulator

Posted by mackenzie brown on April 6, 2017

In the essay Learning to Be A Responsible Circulator, what really stood out to me was the part discussing the brands. It starts about by talking about different news stations and how we as a society usually only trust the most popular brands like The Washington Post or anything along that line. Personally I do trust the popular “brands” over the unknown brands or sources. When they explain Wikipedia as being a controversy of this it made perfect sense. I have always been told not to trust Wikipedia because it is not a very credible source nor is it always 100% correct. You can never know when something on the site has been edited by someone and the information may not be true even though it is suppose to be. I also found it interesting that there is often times a lot of misinformation coming from popular brands that we pay attention to. The essay states that “as long as the publisher ‘got the gist of it’ it was okay because they were not purposely misleading the audience”. This statement was interesting to me because You never seem to think that anything on your trusted sources could ever be wrong information. Spreadable media is calling everyone “producers” and “audiences” which helps people actively engage in the media. They also explain how they are providing the right tools for people of all ages to be able to navigate through media responsibly. I think it’s very important to make media simple to use and navigate so that more people will get engaged and participate.

4 Responses to “Responsible Circulator”

  1. marylennoxhalf said

    I was also surprised by the statement of getting the gist of an article. Sources like Wikipedia can provide information that is not completely accurate, and it is our job to fact check before we assume it is correct.

  2. The part about brands also really stood out to me because I found it relatable. I do find myself trusting the “popular brands.” Also, I was surprised by that statement as well. You would think a trusted source would always have trusted information, but like the other comment says, we should fact check.

  3. faythleighann said

    You’ve made a really good comparison that I too thought about in the readings. During high school, I was never allowed to use Wiki because of these same reasons you gave, but was told to trust certain sources. I have seen first hand how trusted media sites can manipulate “facts” into an interesting article just for views and rates.

  4. emilychildress329 said

    I loved this point that was made as well. I always know that when I am about to write a picture that my teachers will always tell us not to use .com sources or sites like wiki that anyone can write in. It is always important to make sure that the information you use is accurate.

Leave a Reply

 
