WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

What Old Media Can Teach New Media

Posted by faythleighann on April 5, 2017

The article “What Old Media Can Teach New Media” was my main focus of tonight’s readings. One thing that I really caught onto was the dependence on loyalty between a customer and the producers. This concept is seen in the section on sequels. It is the idea that costumers are loyal and genuinely interested in the films or TV series of a producer and continuously keep up with the productions. Even though we know that the motive of the producers is simply to make more money, we still comply with the unspoken bounds of continuing that relationship. But what most productions have realized is that costumers are willing to play the part because of they enjoy the film or Series. This is for the most part, however. For some audiences, their loyalty to a production can be broken by a change in the production itself. In these cases it is the unknowing that a show will continue to be popular. This is why New Media relies on data from Old Media to be successful.

8 Responses to “What Old Media Can Teach New Media”

  1. adusheck said

    I agree with this a lot and hadn’t really noticed it until reading this. Movies that could easily end in a happy ending are now drawn out into sequels, prequels, and two part endings. As are other productions such as the show 13 reasons why which could have easily been made into one movie but was instead turned into a show and then when it gained popularity there was instantly talk of a season 2 although there is only one book

  2. You make a valid point. Most films with happy endings recently have been drawn out into sequels or 2 part endings. This brings the audiences attention back to said story line and then grows in popularity from there on.

    • jacobkaraglanis said

      You’re both right. Sequels have become a very normal thing in society now. I find it funny that I could go to the movies and watch a film that could very easily stand alone. But, then the company that produced it decided that many years later that their ending actually did not matter and their is a super deep back story plus five more movies that will wrap up what the first movie already had done. I feel like Hollywood successfully scams the people into watching the same movie over and over again when they make series, because it sticks so well. (I mean I kind of like it because I’m very big into movies).

  3. Very solid point. A lot of fans will always stick around because they enjoy the series.

  4. Like the previous comments have said, I too agree with you and hadn’t noticed this trend until I read this. I find myself following this because I do “play the part” because of my enjoyment for the series or film. Your last sentence is very strong in my opinion, and I do agree with you. New media should rely on old media to really be successful.

  5. briannaembry said

    Old media can provide a valid guideline for new media. For producers, its all about giving the audience what they want to see. I agree with @adusheck on the example of 13 reasons why. I’ve actually been thinking on that example today, having read the book and wondering why they would make it a tv series when the producers could simple make the book into a movie. Given the storyline, this would make more sense. But, producers have already gained the loyalty with the consumers and the tv series is already very popular. By drawing out the storyline, the producers realize they can make more money as a tv series rather than a simple movie.

  6. tommistowers said

    I love that your main focus was how the producer really connects your attention to their audience. For myself personally, I would considered myself a loyal fan with greys anatomy, prison break, and vampire diaries. When another season comes on Netflix I watch the next series. Good Job!

  7. emilychildress329 said

    I feel this way about the show Pretty Little Liars. After about the 3rd season I got really tried of the series, however I wanted to know who the famous A was so I still to this day keep watching it.

Leave a Reply

 
