WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

RESPONSIBLE CIRCULATOR

Posted by marylennoxhalf on April 5, 2017

It was very interesting to read about the credibility online and the use of media sites, which can have incorrect facts. Wikipedia was a great example given in the article. When I was younger, and heard a teacher say I was not able to use Wikipedia as a credible article, it confused me. I did not realize that anyone in the world could add info to the page, no matter if it’s true or not. Other sites can provide this same info, which audience members could see and could automatically believe it is accurate, and not fact check.

There have been many times that I have thought one thing, and after noticed an article completely saying what I thought was not true. I noticed that a ton during the election. Another time, is my weekly Walgreens run. I will see titles on magazines, then think it is true. While watching the Bachelor this season, I saw a magazine about Nick, the Bachelorette. SImply by looking at the title, I realized that he had done something wrong this season, but I did not put in the work to make sure what I read was true! It is very important for people to research what they think might be true, because there is a big chance it is not exactly how it is stated on magazines or online.

4 Responses to “RESPONSIBLE CIRCULATOR”

  1. lillieeastham said

    I like that you mentioned gossip magazines. I actually think Wikipedia shouldn’t be compared to these because it actually makes a really strong effort to be accurate, whereas these magazines do the opposite. Once my friend edited a really obscure Wikipedia article and it was changed back within 12 hours for innaccuracies.

  2. Kimberlea Ferrell said

    I have the same experience with Wikipedia! Teachers would tell us not to use it but never explain why. Although anyone can add or change information, most of the time people that create articles there put effort into providing accurate information.

  3. laurenivey22 said

    I totally agree with the Wikipedia part of this blog. Teachers, no matter where, always tell you not to use it because it is extremely inaccurate and everything on it is false. Although, they try to put accurate information into the Wikipedia site, it rarely ever happens. One of the girls in my class’s dad is actually a murderer and his name is in all of the articles online which the girl says is accurate, and when I then proceeded to ask her about the article in Wikipedia about her father, she said although, they tried to be accurate, they got many things wrong about the incident.

  4. emilyjones232 said

    I like how you mention the gossip magazines. They are blown completely out of proportion and most of them are completely fiction!

Leave a Reply

 
