WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Designing Spreadability pt.1

Posted by emmaeled on April 5, 2017

I think the second essay “Learning to be a Responsible Circulator” was especially connected to the media in the past few months with the coining of the term “Fake News”. From a personal experience a few months ago a video was released from TMZ (I know I should have known) of footage from the filming of “A Dog’s Purpose”. The footage looked as though the animal was being forced in turbulent water and was petrified and that conditions were unfit. I immediately shared the video and went on a rant about how awful it was. And then 3 days later there was an investigation done and all the footage was released and the dog was treated exceptionally well. And I felt like one of those idiots on the internet that I make fun of for being so gullible.

People should always “double source”. If you read something that sounds controversial or reads too much like gossip then extra research needs to be done. Photoshop, video editing, and many other manipulative tools existing in today’s media and it is easy for stories to be misconstrued.  However, we don’t need to be so quick discount whole stories. Often times, as stated in the essay, only parts are exaggerated or misinterpreted. In very rare cases have their been completely fabricated news stories.

I also liked the discussion in the beginning about how not everyone needs to feel obligated to put something out into the world. When everyone is creating it takes away from the art or the meaning of being creative. My sister is 11 and every single of her friends wants to be a famous “youtuber” and have something to give and create. That’s great and all, but not everyone has the knack for that. And if everyone was meant to be YouTube would have billions more users.

4 Responses to “Designing Spreadability pt.1”

  1. marylennoxhalf said

    I also saw the video from the movie from TMZ. I had not looked up the source either, and automatically decided I was not going to support that movie. It is so crazy how seeing something like that on our social media can quickly make us judge, without putting in more research.

  2. lillieeastham said

    I’m always so hesitant to comment on controversial things like that because I get so worked up, but I fear that exact thing happening. It seems like it so often happens that when there is a really shocking information that comes out, the reason it is so shocking is because it’s not true at all.

  3. laurenivey22 said

    ^^^ i totally agree. Controversial things like that really get me upset and want to comment on stuff like it marketing my opinion but i never do because i dont want to look stupid if it is fake or false information.

  4. emilyjones232 said

    I also never comment on controversial things. I know I’m probable misinformed or my emotions are too high to even make a difference.

Leave a Reply

 
