WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Designed for Spreadability Pt.1

Posted by lillieeastham on April 5, 2017

The idea of companies struggling to figure out what audiences will enjoy and spread reminds me of Twitter. Tweets go viral daily on twitter, usually content produced by a normal account that just happened to get popular. Even I can manage 80 favorites on my best day. I also follow many accounts, not run by celebrities, and not the ones that just steal tweets, that get thousands of favorites normally just because the content is consistently funny.

 

I find this interesting because it seems that normal people have very little trouble understanding what other’s will find spreadable, much better than some people whose whole job is to know. Obviously, RTing a tweet takes much less commitment than making a purchase, but the general idea is there. I’ve also noticed that the company twitter’s that are the most popular tend to be the ones that behave with the least professionalism. Taco Bell, Wendy’s and McDonald’s all tend to go off script and act like they are ran by average people, and people love it. This makes me think that the best solution to these advertising companies is to just produce content that they would share with their friends and it will most likely resonate with others.

 

In the second article, I liked the defense of Wikipedia. While I understand that Wikipedia should not be used as a main academic source, usually when conducting research that’s the first place I go so I even know what else to search for. Usually, it has the easiest to understand and most helpful format, meaning that the exclusion of it as any kind of source at all can be more of a hindrance than a help.

2 Responses to “Designed for Spreadability Pt.1”

  1. katemilner9 said

    I think its interesting that we react more positively to less professionalism. Like you said regarding the corporate Twitters, going off script definitely makes the tweets more spreadable. Should the new professional be casual?

  2. vene131 said

    I never really thought about how the things that gain popularity on social media are things that are usually by normal people that have limited professionalism. But I can definitely see this happening with the Denny’s account on Tumblr as well.

Leave a Reply

 
