WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Meaningful Participation: Part 3

Posted by emilyjones232 on April 3, 2017

Why do certain artists stick with you for longer than others? The reading for tonight really got me asking that question. I know, personally, there has been many bands or singers that I used to be obsessed with that I am no longer or artists that I have been a fan of for years, and the reason of that is active participation.

For example, one of my favorite bands is Fall Out Boy. I have been a fan of them since middle school. I saw them in concert during my sophomore year of high school and I still actively listen to their music. I feel a community within the fanbase, as many of my friends listen to the band and we can have discussions when they release new music or when they went on hiatus years back. The participation aspect of listening to a band you love with people you’re close to brings a new sense of togetherness within the fandom.

Oppositely, there have been artists that I did not feel a community in so I just fell out of the fandom. I really like The Avett Brothers. There was a concert of theirs that I really wanted to go to but I knew no one that liked them enough to go with me, so I ended up falling out of love with them. I still listen to them and love them, but they are not on rotation as much as bands I feel a community with.

This goes back to any kind of fandom or group. To feel connected, you have to feel included and wanted. If you don’t get that community aspect, you are less likely to be an active participant.

Leave a Reply

 
