WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

3/30: What Constitutes Meaningful Participation? Part 2

Posted by tommistowers on March 31, 2017

In What Constitutes Meaningful Participation Pt. 2 it explains about the digital culture in today’s generation. In today’s culture television is become more interactive commodity in the new generation as well. As the book cites a Forrester survey of U.S. I found it interesting the stats that were in front of my face at the time. “52 percent of people online were “inactive” and only 13 percent were “actual creators” of so-called user-generated content.” These stats found a shift away from audiences towards the users that were made unclear exactly what “use” is. During today’s generation you will see that the digital era has been impacted by the new generation of teens. Teens online have produced 64 percent of U.S. media. This includes the 39 percent circulating content beyond friends and family. This means that teenagers are becoming more active in today’s media. On the other hand, the ones who remain “inactive” are also described as “lurkers”. A “lurker” provides value to people sharing commentary or producing multimedia content by expanding the audience and motivating their work. The audience known as “lurkers” often chose to “lurk” for many reasons. I see myself consider as a “lurker” for the most part. I do not speak my opinion often or even stay active through social media just because I don’t have much to say. I often catch myself just going through social media and rarely posting. We view life now through our phone versus actually seeing it. The generation I live in now is 100 percent going to change the digital world of media.

3 Responses to “3/30: What Constitutes Meaningful Participation? Part 2”

  1. I also found it interesting how today’s television has become more interactive. Also, you picked a great quote. I found it surprising & interesting to learn because I didn’t know that about what percent was actually user created content. I agree with you about lurking; I also view myself as a lurker.

  2. cameronbrooks3 said

    It’s funny how we use lurking in media differently from everyday language like slag. For example, when I say lurking I mean it as like spying or staining at someone. But in this case we mean is as a good thing like sharing opinions and ideas on a show or movie.

  3. jasendavis said

    I think lurking is quite valuable. Websites are able to measure how many people lurk and use that information to gauge popularity. I don’t believe that user created content is the only way to measure meaningful interaction with the media.

Leave a Reply

 
