WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Meaningful Participation

Posted by mackenzie brown on March 30, 2017

The reading in chapter 4 of spreadable media was extremely informative. I liked the part about lurkers because I did not even know what a “lurker” was before reading this chapter. It makes a lot of sense because I feel like I could be considered a lurker because I get on social media and look at stuff but I hardly ever post anything. I also found the part about how consumers can be producers because media is becoming so popular that anyone can create or produce anything. Audiences in the media can be active and inactive when being involved. I think there’s a lot of people who are not active audiences taking part in media but they contribute as audiences because they are considered “lurkers”. I found it interesting that there was a difference between “fans” and “fandoms”. I never really understood the difference between the two but it makes sense after reading the book. Fandoms are at a higher part of the pyramid than fans because they create a sort of world of their own for what they love. The example of Harry Potter is one of the best ones because fans have made it so popular. They even went as far as to make a Harry Potter world because that is how much fans love Harry Potter. Fans and fandoms are the reasons media is so popular. Fans and fandoms determine the fate of the media. If fans stopped watching a show it would go off TV, if they like the show it would stay on TV. Active audiences are so important in the media today.

4 Responses to “Meaningful Participation”

  1. emmaeled said

    Fan and fandom thing was also neat to learn about for me. You would think they would all be in the same realm and family but even within the superior fandom there a pockets within them that say they’re better other fandom members.

  2. nathanpowers22 said

    I don’t think all “lurking” can necessarily be written off as inactive. In many ways, lurkers can be some of the most active users on any given platform. While they don’t perform labor-intensive work through fan creations, lurkers often comprise the base of the fan pyramids you mentioned in your post by constantly viewing, rating, and sharing content generated by those at the top. Lurkers help keep fan communities alive because if you only had a network of creators all focused on their own work, who’s left to appreciate and spread the media produced within it?

  3. I also liked reading about lurkers because I didn’t know what it was either. It also made it more interesting to me when I learned that I am a lurker because I’m always viewing but not really posting anything original. I also agree that I never knew the difference between fans & fandoms until reading this chapter.

  4. I can relate to being a lurker myself versus one who posts on a regular basis regardless of which mode of social media I may be using at the time. This chapter gave great insight into the differences between fans and fandoms.

Leave a Reply

 
