WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Crank That Soulja Boy

Posted by jacobkaraglanis on March 30, 2017

After reading the essays that were assigned for us to read tonight. I got SUPER pumped when I even glanced at it and saw “‘Crank That’ by Soulja Boy.” I immediately thought back to when my sister, my best friend,  his sister, and I made our own youtube video dancing to this song when I was in fifth grade. I had no idea what the song was about, but after watching Soulja Boy’s dance I immediately fell in love with the dance craze and rap culture as a whole. My love for the dance, song, and rap was very quickly shot down my father who heard the lyrics of the song and IMMEDIATELY banned me from all Soulja Boy or anything rap (and still kind of does try to keep me from it). So after reading the part of the essay that discussed the lyricism of the song, I very much relate to the fact that many people had no clue what the words meant in the song. Though many people just enjoy the catchiness of the beat and the dance craze. So then after Soulja Boy’s first modern dance craze. Many other artists decided to follow along with their own kind of dance craze that also have hidden vulgar lyrics. Some that I know are “the jerk” and “teach me how to dougie” these songs also have some grotesque lyrics. But songs like this also become wildly popular amongst teens and young kids because they want to be like the rappers and dance like the “cool kids,” despite the lyrical content.

Leave a Reply

 
