WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

What Constitutes Meaningful Participation?, Pt.1

Posted by tristendenney14 on March 29, 2017

When I first sat down to read these five online essays, I had no idea what to expect, especially since we had just transitioned from soap operas, into professional wrestling, into participation. However, I quickly found that one of these essays was going to be my favorite one that we had read so far this semester. Though all of these essays had main points and ideas referring to participation, Kevin Driscoll’s, “Soulja Boy and Dance Crazes”, stood out to me in particular. I first became interested in this essay simply by reading the title because I love music, rap music in particular, so when I realized Soulja Boy was involved in our readings, I knew it was going to be good. Honestly, this essay did not begin the way I thought it would, but towards the middle to end of it, I was shocked to learn how and why this song became such a big hit. For example, I still remember where I was to this day when I first heard this song, so the paragraph discussing the meaning of lyrics like “crank it”, “superman”, and “jig” were very interesting to me. I always thought this song blew up due to a catchy beat with funny lyrics, but little did I know these lyrics and even the “crank dat” title were not completely Soulja Boy’s idea. Another part I found interesting was the paragraph discussing the video and how the appearances of Soulja Boy and The Cash Camp Clique were so influential and popular. The “idiosyncratic clothes, slang dancing, and southern accents” were very popular throughout the 2000’s, but certain characteristics have changed and gained popularity today. Rappers today like Lil Yachty or Lil Uzi Vert are less interested in baggy clothes and do-rags, and more interested in expensive watches and nice cars. Music like any other type of media change over time to fit the current culture. Therefore, though Soulja Boy made a huge impact in the mid-2000’s, music and the associated media industries will continue to adapt to what has the greatest monetary value.

4 Responses to “What Constitutes Meaningful Participation?, Pt.1”

  1. Kimberlea Ferrell said

    I found that essay interesting as well, but kind of for an opposite reason. I didn’t know anything about Soulja Boy before reading it! I had only heard that song in passing. It was really neat to learn about him and see how everything started.

  2. adusheck said

    I agree that style has changed but the content of the music is still about the same stuff. I also did not know that “Crank Dat” was not entirely Soulja Boy’s idea.

  3. laurenivey22 said

    I agree with what Kimberlea said and how I had not really listened to Soulja Boy before I heard this song. This song was a huge hit and had everyone on their feet dancing when it came on!

  4. jacobkaraglanis said

    I like how you mentioned Lil Yachty and Lil Uzi Vert. It’s strange to even that Soulja Boy is not even ten years apart from these modern rappers, yet stylistically they are so different. It’s also funny how you mentioned them, because Lil Uzi Vert has said on numerous occasions that he “wants to make Soulja Boy big again.” So even despite their differences they still like each other’s styles.

Leave a Reply

 
