WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

What constitutes Meaningful Participation Part 2

Posted by jasendavis on March 29, 2017

I really liked what Ross had to say about television becoming a much more interactive commodity in the new generation. Every night, I watch Adult Swim on Cartoon Network. I flipped my TV on one day after class and the child’s program that was running was even more interactive than any I had ever seen. I don’t remember the name of the show, but it was premised on the main character having a bunch of different swords, or “sabers”. Every time a new saber would come into play on the show, viewers, children in this case, were encouraged to take out their cell phones, open an app related to the show, and “collect” the sword.

I cannot think of any type of show that is as interactive as the show I stumbled upon on cartoon network, but it does occur fairly often through twitter. Entire episodes of shows air with a hashtag, made up by the producers, sitting in the bottom corner of the screen. There are two reasons they do this. One, they want to see how many people are watching and are so engaged that they fill the need to talk about it, and second, they want others to know that their show is currently running and should be watched.

Driscoll took me back in time with his Soulja Boy reference. I think we see an extreme amount of the phenomena he describes in today’s society. The running man challenge, the mannequin challenge, and even the older “Dougie”. I hate these dance crazes, but they do show the strength of inspired participation on popularity. Who would even remember Soulja Boy if there wasn’t a dance to “Crank Dat”?

3 Responses to “What constitutes Meaningful Participation Part 2”

  1. Sean Hull said

    The show you mention sounds quite interesting! Thanks to my research for my group’s FOLD project I’ve heard of a LEGO show that incorporates similar features, but I didn’t realize that it was part of what’s possibly a larger trend in children’s television.

  2. lillieeastham said

    I also think the hashtags that the shows use create a way for people that have never watched it to become aware of it. When a show is really popular, it can begin trending on twitter due to the hashtags, and might increase curiosity for those that have never seen it.

  3. emilychildress329 said

    I think that this show sounds like a great way to get the audience involved. I think more shows are starting to catch onto the trend by incorporating certain hashtags that allow the audience to explain how they feel about a certain segment.

Leave a Reply

 
