WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Soulja Boy and Dance Crazes

Posted by emilymorgan98 on March 29, 2017

The first article I read was Kevin Driscoll’s article, “Soulja Boy and Dance Crazes”. At first, this reminded me some of the dances that I had in middle school. A few of the songs mentioned were played at every single dance and it seemed like everyone knew them; even if it was a newer song.   I find it a little bit funny because those songs did not mean much to any of us then but now that is the genre that I listen to the most- 2000s pop hits. Along with myself, if me and some friends are hanging out that is usually what we are listening to. If I ever hear an older song and I am around people my age, literally everyone gets so excited and dances along. I did not realize, though, that “Crank Dat” was a trend and that there were other songs with that in the title. I also did not really know anything about Soulja boy himself. I think it is cool how he started on Myspace. You always hear of people getting big off youtube or even Instagram or Vine now a days but I never thought that it was possible back when Myspace was a thing just because social media was not all the huge at the time. Also, I didn’t realize how involved with everything he was and that he acted more as a symbol for the whole trend overall.

After reading this, it is crazy to think of how much is changed. I don’t know much about the music business but it sounds like he had a lot more freedom with his song and with everything then people do now.

5 Responses to “Soulja Boy and Dance Crazes”

  1. tristendenney14 said

    I agree with you Emily and it is crazy to think how much music has changed since then. I too was shocked when learning that Soulja Boy stood for the whole “crank dat” movement, and never would have guessed he became popular off Myspace. Therefore, I look forward to seeing how new rappers or artists become popular, and how music changes in the next few decades.

  2. marylennoxhalf said

    Middle school dances! I thought the same thing. It was very interesting to learn how Soulja boy got famous off of Myspace.

  3. laurenivey22 said

    I totally agree! Finding out a song became popular off Myspace is almost funny to think about because no one uses it anymore, but without it, the song would not have become as popular and had such a huge fan base.

  4. emilyjones232 said

    It’s strange to read the word “Myspace” and not feel transported to 2007. However, without that site, we would have been denied of a fantastic middle school song haha.

  5. jacobkaraglanis said

    I disagree with you saying that musicians had more freedom now, as opposed to then. I say this because there are an incredible amount of bands or musicians that are able to make it big in the business with absolutely no label. So these musicians literally answer to nobody. They can make whatever music they like, or what their fans like. But other than that, I like your blog post.

Leave a Reply

 
