WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Teens With Free Time

Posted by laurenivey22 on March 27, 2017

In the reading for “How Spreadable Media Changes How We Think About Advertising” it makes a valid point about how ads are a vital part of a company selling their product, and it is a very important way to get their name out there, but the point that people are watching ads less and less is also made. How many times when you are listening to Pandora or trying to watch a video on YouTube do you wait until the ‘skip ad’ button pops up and hit it almost immediately? It really opened my eyes on how companies sort of seem to be wasting their money now.
In a study that was done involving adults and their participation in media online, I found flaws with this, for the mere fact that it should have included teenagers. I feel like more teenagers are online than adults are anyways. It only makes sense, teens usually have the most free time and would be able to manage social media accounts, or editing accounts.
I, myself, am an avid user of all the social media sites, including Twitter, Snapchat, Instagram, Facebook, Tumblr, etc. I find myself logging onto social media daily and seeing tweets that pop up on my timeline due to the amount of retweets or likes they get. I also see ads for companies on the social media sites, which I cannot get rid of.
Overall, the use of ads is a dying art, I believe, but the teens taking over online media is only just beginning.

 

2 Responses to “Teens With Free Time”

  1. Teens are definitely taking over the web and social sites and have been over the past couple years. I think it is mostly negative because teens don’t usually handle things well because I know I didn’t. And letting teens be at the forefront of spreading media doesn’t sound like the best of ideas.

  2. emilyjones232 said

    I agree: teens are the new IT demographic and ad agencies need to cater to that!

Leave a Reply

 
