WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Participation part 2

Posted by emilymorgan98 on March 27, 2017

Before reading this, I was thinking this would be able in real life, like in class or with a group of people. I do not know why but I just did not think of it being about social media. However, with that said I found it interesting. I feel like participating on social media means something different to everyone. Some might think it would be the physical act of replying back to someone, rather that be on twitter or Instagram, or just simply retweeting/liking a posting or even being on the site itself and that alone. I, myself, think participating on social media is a little of the first two. Even though I barely use my Facebook I usually find myself of Instagram and Twitter throughout the day.  While on there I stay liking posts and retweeting stuff and if I see one of my friends I am more likely to reply or send them something. To me, this is what it means to be active and participate on social media; besides how is it social media if you are not being social in some way?

The section that mentioned how media production has become the highest form of audience participation stuck out to me. I still remember when it was not a big thing at all. I can recall when I was younger my mom and sister were obsessed with shows like American Idol and So You Think You Can Dance and I can remember watching those shows and having a number pop up to call to save whoever you liked. As time went on I remember seeing how much they came to include social media; such as added “hashtags” to use to help the voting, along with calling in; I think there have become more options but since I don’t really keep up anymore I don’t know what they are.

Leave a Reply

 
