WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Participation part 2

Posted by kaufmansw on March 27, 2017

I really liked this topic because I felt like I could relate. I believe that people like me should the ones in this study instead of older folks.  The reason why is quite simple; Teenagers have far more experience communicating via social media than older people.  One could definitely argue that social media is the most efficient form of communication today.  My dad always used to joke that if it wasn’t on social media then it didn’t happen or matter to people of my age.  I believe in this study’s results in that communication is very powerful.  If we couldn’t communicate then nothing would ever get done. The most interesting thing in the world to me is when people from other countries can come together and discuss hot topics.  I’ve often plotted picking up an international relations major.  I believe that Twitter is the best app to communicate with.  Most people aren’t going to read multiple pages on a topic but 140 characters they will.  Short and sweet is what people tend to go with.  With twitter you can follow whoever you want, no matter where they are from. I like to think that this study is changing the world in a unique way. The ability to communicate through social media gives us the luxury to spread news along hot issues throughout the world in a matter of a click of a button. I couldn’t be more thankful for social media and how technology has progressed today.  I wouldn’t be able to keep up with some of my distant family if it wasn’t for it.

One Response to “Participation part 2”

  1. vene131 said

    I totally agree that social media is definitely a thing that people our age should study and not people like our parents age. Trying to explain to elderly people what one does with social media coordination is the Worst conversation I have ever had in my life. And I definitely love how we can spread information at such a quicker pace than before.

Leave a Reply

 
