WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

“Lurkers” Within Fanfiction. (Mar 28th)

Posted by vene131 on March 27, 2017

I found the labeling of people who do not actively create within an audience “lurkers” to be interesting. Because these people do not produce content they are labeled as people who do not contribute back. This is something that I see a lot of in the fanfiction community. People who write fanfiction do it completely at no cost just with their free time. They are essentially creating free content and expecting nothing in return. I think that a lot of people read fanfiction and then do not have the courtesy to even comment or like it just to show the author that they enjoyed what they read. I would labeled these people “lurkers” because they are not creating the content, yet, they continue to consume the content at no cost to them. Personally, I think it is kind of petty to read like a 100k fic and then not even be like “hey dude I really liked what you did in chapter three with that one scene.” Honestly it does not take long to just acknowledge someone’s creation as a way of making them want to create more. Especially since there are things like like buttons. Liking something takes like two seconds and lets a creator know you enjoyed what they created. I recognize that participation can sometimes take people out of their comfort zones, I mean, I never talk in class because that is Who I Am as a person. But I definitely think that if you are going to be involved with something, the least you can do is not be a “lurker” kind of audience.

Leave a Reply

 
