WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Wrestling Fandom and Sterotype

Posted by connorfrederick12 on March 25, 2017

Wrestling fandom is something that is somewhat fragile at the core of it. It’s a fandom that is composed of fans of all different walks of life, and wrestling fans are exaggeratedly scrutinized and stereotyped.

I am a very big fan of the hit show “South Park” and on one episode the boys go to watch WWE live in Denver one night and then after some events, decide to make their own wrestling federation. As the program they created got bigger and bigger locally, the fans started showing up, most of which is what the stereotypical wrestling fan would be; the redneck, really country talking like. I know they are being satirical in the show but, it is not always this way in society. A lot of society sees a stereotypical wrestling fan in that way, which I personally don’t find offensive because I know that’s not me, but some do.

Back to fandom, wrestling fans get upset with some of the decisions that the WWE makes. One particularly big decision that was made was when Brock Lesnar beat the Undertaker at Wrestlmania 30, ending his unbeaten run of over 20+ wins at Wrestlemania. I was not very invested in the WWE at the time because I stopped watching a lot after Jeff Hardy’s departure due to drug problems but, I was still really upset. But, that can show the magnitude of the fandom that the WWE has created.

This has personally been an exciting week of class for me. I love the WWE, and others should appreciate it, and what it has done for pop culture more.

3 Responses to “Wrestling Fandom and Sterotype”

  1. I love that you connected it to “South Park;” I do remember that episode. I also like how you acknowledged the fact that wrestling fandoms are stereotyped and get upset with some decisions that are made. This can be seen with other fandoms and television shows as well.

  2. emilychildress329 said

    The connection with South Park shows this imagery of being stereotypical very well. I personally do not stereotype against WWE, but many people do, and I believe they do without even realizing it.

  3. cameronbrooks3 said

    A good blogger always relates it’s topic to another source. Using South Park as an example about what we are talking about is a good idea and not only that a good show to use in this situation.

Leave a Reply

 
