WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Wrestling Pt. 2

Posted by jacobkaraglanis on March 23, 2017

After our first readings about professional wrestling, then watching a few of the actual wrestling matches in class on Tuesday. I personally feel like I understand less about professional wrestling now, than I did before we started our class focus on it. I am saying this not because the concepts or any of the footage that we watched were very complex. I just completely lose all understanding for why people are so incredibly enthralled with the sport that is professional wrestling.

Like before our readings and viewing, I guess I kind of was able to convince myself that I understood professional wrestling. I was able to rationalize that “oh hey, wrestling is a fairly popular professional sport that people seem to enjoy. It must be like any other sport.” Well that is where I was completely wrong.

See I had heard stories and seen some quick clips of wrestling’s strange acting and some of the oddities that were present. But as a whole, I did not imagine all of it would be as completely ridiculous as it was. Sure, some of the moves are bound to actually hurt. But the absolute fictitious nature of the whole event was insane. It was like watching buff stunt doubles sort of beat each other up. I was quite possibly some of the worst content I had ever watched. Part of that honestly had to do with the fact that there were so many fans there watching it and paying so much money to partake in such a crappy thing. That is truly where I decided that I just do NOT understand anything about wrestling. So therefore, my blog post for “Understanding Wrestling Part 2,”  is about me just completely not understanding wrestling. At. All.

6 Responses to “Wrestling Pt. 2”

  1. adusheck said

    I agree that I am more confused about why people like wrestling so much after actually watching a match. I’ve heard that it is fake for a long time but never actually watched a match long enough to realize how fake it truly is.

  2. marylennoxhalf said

    After watching, I too felt the confusion of trying to understand the fans. The amount of people there, and most likely the number of viewers baffles me. It seems to me that there are people who are either die hard fans, or they do not give it much attention. I am glad I am not the only person questioning the craziness!

  3. briannaembry said

    I grew up watching the older wrestling reruns with my dad and older brother. I honestly think that if it were not for me being exposed to professional wrestling by family members that I have looked up to my whole life, I would have never showed any kind of interest in the genre. Watching the royal rumble clip in class made me realize how ridiculous professional wrestling is. The fans and performers remain overly engaged in a completely fake act and it doesn’t make perfect sense, but the energy is still there.

  4. connorfrederick12 said

    Wrestling is not something for everyone, that’s for sure. No matter how fictitious or over the top the shows may be, it is entertaining as hell. Which is why it is labeled sports entertainment.

  5. emilychildress329 said

    I love watching wrestling. I believe that most interest that people have in WWE live is from being younger and watching it. In older generations, I believe that it was more popular and one of the only things on television causing people to show interest.

  6. I agree. After having actually watched a professional wrestling match I see no reason why this sport is so hyped up. I feel that this sport has a smaller, stronger, and more dense fan base allowing for the sport to continue on television.

Leave a Reply

 
