WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Wrestling Pt. 2

Posted by marylennoxhalf on March 22, 2017

In class on Tuesday, I realized that I had never sat through a whole hour of wrestling. At the beginning, I found myself almost laughing, but also I just couldn’t seem to look away. The over dramatic attitudes made it so enjoyable to watch. I now understand why fans would be so dedicated. The loud music and excited fans make it so fun to watch. I think I would prefer watching it on tv, compared to being there in person, though. Overall, it was such a learning experience for me to sit down and watch. Normally, I would quickly switch through.

It is such a strange and interesting phenomenon. Although I see through the dramatics, it is still so intriguing to see the crowd’s reactions! Everyone is having the time of their lives watching, and waiting to see who will win. After reading the articles, too, it is so interesting to see all of the work and time it takes to make these wrestling competition’s worth the watch. They must get the attention of watchers, and also get people to come to them! It is so interesting to see what it takes to put all of this on. It is especially interesting to go from Soap Operas to Wrestling. Which you could think has nothing to do with each other, but you can see the same aspects in both.

4 Responses to “Wrestling Pt. 2”

  1. Wrestling is kind of hilarious to me actually. I mean the whole story line thing really kills me out because it isn’t real, but just all the dramatics involved just really makes me laugh. It is really interesting, though. I couldn’t look away either for most of the episode of it.

  2. laurenivey22 said

    I defintely agree. The videos we watched in class on tuesday had to laughing because of how bad the actual wrestling itself was. Although, it is entertainment and because of that, i couldnt look away. It had me wanting to watch and make fun of the next obviously scripted move.

  3. faythleighann said

    You mentioned a really good point, and that it that you “couldn’t look away”. That to me is what I took away from these articles. It’s the fact that whether you truly are interested in the fights and rooting for a wrestler or simply enjoy laughing at the “bad acting”, you engage yourself in the fights and want to see more.

  4. emilyjones232 said

    Nice job comparing soap operas and professional wrestling. The two are oddly similar, which is something that many don’t put together.

Leave a Reply

 
