WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Understanding Professional Wrestling Part 1 (March 20th Blog)

Posted by faythleighann on March 22, 2017

As a new focus, we begin to analyze professional wrestling, and more specifically WWE. I remember when I was younger my sister and I used to love watching the wrestlers. When I got older, and found out that it was all staged, I quickly lost interest. Even before reading the articles, I never fully grasped the concept of professional wrestling. Why do extreme fans obsess over a fake fight? Also, why in every fight does a wrestler face the challenge of being the hero or the antihero? After reading the two articles I think I have a better understanding and clearer answers to those questions.

Just like any other type of entertainment, wrestling has become a part of our culture. I related wrestling to TV series (or even soap operas) to understand the importance of staged fighting. Even though I used to watch it when I was younger, I didn’t understand why people watched WWE wrestling knowing that is was fake. I didn’t grasp the idea of the excitement like other fans. But then again, it’s exactly like regular television. In rom-coms, we know that the actors aren’t actually in love and it’s all scripted, but we are engaged with it anyways, and the same goes for wrestling. Also, every match is different (because of the tension or media build up between the two wrestlers) causing a constant shift in focus and interest in the fans which is similar to soap operas. Just like soap operas having an overload of characters and changing the story, WWE mixes up the emotions of the fans by staging one wrestler to be more favorited (or the good guy) rather than the other. Like everything else we have discussed, wrestling has it strategies to hook its audience and create a web of media to stay popular.

Leave a Reply

 
