WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

WWE Storytelling

Posted by connorfrederick12 on March 21, 2017

This is probably the most excited I’ve ever been for a week of class in my entire life. If you’ve read some of my previous blog posts, you all know that I do enjoy he pinnacle of sports entertainment, the WWE. With the 33rd installment of the biggest show in sports, Wrestlemania, it’s plain to see that my previous statement is relevant. Although professional wrestling may have a pretty selective audience, it has had a profound effect on popular culture over the last 30 to 40 years.

One thing that the WWE does better than almost any show that’s ever existed, is storytelling. In the 2 to 3 years that I religiously watched the WWE, I think I seen some of the best arcs of the 2000s. Vince McMahon trying to find his illegitimate son, Shawn Michaels beating Ric Flair in a match at Wrestlemania that, if lost, Flair had to retire, just to mention a few. Although there were many many more entertaining ones. The past 2-3 years have provided some great moments as well with the Undertaker getting defeated at Wretlemania 30 by Brock Lesnar, which nobody expected considering the Undertaker’s undefeated streak.

Like Sam mentioned in his work “WWE’s Story World and the Immersive Potentials of Transmedia Storytelling”, the WWE likes to incorporate real-life figures and situations into the shows to make it more realistic, and more believable. Floyd Mayweather was part of a story ending at Wrestlemania 24 with a fight against The Big Show, and Jeff Hardy’s last story arc in the WWE with CM Punk where he was attacking Hardy personally about his real history of drug use.

No matter how PG the WWE may be right now, it’s no kids game.

3 Responses to “WWE Storytelling”

  1. tristendenney14 said

    I agree with you Connor. Though I have never been a huge fan of WWE, I can definitely see the effects it has on popular culture. Just simply through wrestlers like John Cena helping with the Make A Wish Foundation, the benefits inside and outside of the ring are clear. Therefore, I too believe the WWE will continue to prosper for many years in the future.

  2. lillieeastham said

    Especially with the emergence of people like Dwayne Johnson who has crossed over as a mainstream actor, I think wrestling has recently become more relevant than ever.

  3. Drake Kizer said

    Connor, I could not agree with you more. I was excited for this week of class from the moment I read about it on the syllabus. Like you, I have watched WWE for many years and have seen some absolutely great storylines play out via WWE’s weekly televison shows and pay-per-view events. I remember every feud and story arc that you described, but I think my favorite one of them all was the Jeff Hardy and CM Punk feud, because the straight edge and anti-drug Punk laying into Hardy’s dark past made for great television, and their in-ring abilities made for great matches as well. I think non-wrestling fans overstate the importance of all the cartoon antics and silliness and fail to realize that at the end of the day, we are watching wrestling for the matches, not the craziness.

Leave a Reply

 
