WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Fake Professional Wrestling

Posted by emilyjones232 on March 20, 2017

Let me start by stating that I have never been a fan of wresting or WWE. I honestly don’t even like the word, it’s just a weird thing I have I guess.

When I was younger, I was amazed how the wrestlers could take such a beating and then fight again within such a short period of time. There’s no one that is that resilient. However once gaining a little common sense and reading this week’s assignment, I realized just how fake professional wrestling is. Every bit of the televised fight is staged. The fighters are actors and the blood is props. The particular moves that the wrestlers do are even staged and it is if they are putting on a performance.

Also, the “writers” can make a particular wrestler a “good” or “bad” guy just by how they perform that fight. As well as with TV or movies, where the writers explicitly say who the villain is, wrestling is portrayed in the exact same way.

I don’t know if fans of professional wrestling know if what they watch is fake or not. I assume some fans think that what they are watching is very real and truly thrive with watching people tear each other apart. But, I bet fans do know that it is all staged. I guess that is just an aspect of the game that happens and people enjoy it so much.

One Response to “Fake Professional Wrestling”

  1. adusheck said

    I agree. I think WWE is stupid and don’t get whats fun about watching people ACT like they are getting beat up.

Leave a Reply

 
