WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

As the 🌎 Turns

Posted by cameronbrooks3 on March 9, 2017

After my last blog about soap operas it is only right that we discuss for the last time how much we all dislike it and how it is a waste a time. I’m not trying to just bash the shows because I know their are people out there that really enjoy watching them and that’s great for them, but I think I can speak for this generation and say it’s time to cut it loose. For example, The Bold and the Beautiful is a soap opera that has been around since 1987-present, now how and the world can a TV serie still be around for 30 years, but yet be so boring. The way producers set up these shows make it seem like soap operas are realistic. Which is nomewjat true just for the simple fact that the drama part of the shows are accurate. The fans play a big role in why soap operas exist till this day. If you are some one that watches soap operas since you was a child, than it is expected from you to keep watching the shows because you obviously like it. The main thing I learned about soap operas is that it is not reflected around one single main character, actually it is viewed as many characters which makes the story line longer and interesting to viewers that’s why they are never ending because it’s just a new story everyday, but just with a new person. Maybe if soap operas was entertaining I would t mind watching them.

3 Responses to “As the 🌎 Turns”

  1. emilyfalicaa said

    Honestly I think a lot of soap operas are boring. That is also probably why a lot of them have ended in the past few years. But I’m curious what soap operas you’ve watched. Not all of them are so boring and odd. Maria la del Barrio has many crazy and exciting moments such as this one https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WqafUjJUPP8 I’ts just like with superhero movies. Not all of them are exciting and great. You have to find the one that works for you

  2. emilychildress329 said

    I like how you explained that you learned that the soap operas do not just focus on one single character but many characters. I do not find soap operas interesting, but I like the thought of comparing them with shows today.

  3. jasendavis said

    I agree that the genre is boring. The drama in film and television must be relatively larger than life only because watching a character sip coffee and read a newspaper is not good TV, but the repetitive nature of soap operas, I believe, ruins their appeal to younger audiences.

Leave a Reply

 
