WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

U.S. Soap Operas

Posted by emilymorgan98 on March 8, 2017

After watching some of the soap operas in class I got a better feel for them. I had never really watched any in the past other than a scene here and there. Somehow I always saw where it got really dramatic and I just thought that’s how they all were all the time and throughout every show. It was actually a lot more interesting than I had realized. At first I was thinking “Are we really going to watch soap operas in class? Okay. This should be interesting”, but as it went on I was finding myself liking it and even wanting to watch more to see how everything played out.
During the reading and after the reading, I got a better grasp on how much soap operas can influence the fans lives. I did not fully realize the finale can be a really big deal to fans. I do not remember when or where but I think there was one that ended recently or else something really big happened and I remember my mom talking about it and being pretty upset by it; even though she does not really watch them anymore.
With that said I find it impressive that they can produce a new show a day. I know with shows now a days they film for about a week and then have a new episode once a week and soap operas come out a lot faster to where I cannot imagine the work everybody does that are involved.

One Response to “U.S. Soap Operas”

  1. vene131 said

    I definitely understand where you are coming from with soap operas being something that you at first do not think you’ll like and then realizing they actually are interesting just because you are trying to figure out what is going on in this show that has been on for literal decades in like an hour.

Leave a Reply

 
