WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

U.S. Soap Operas part 2

Posted by Kimberlea Ferrell on March 8, 2017

I had no idea what to expect from the soap opera clips we watched Tuesday. I found that I actually enjoyed them for the most part. I was worried they’d be cringey or boring, but they were actually entertaining.

As for tonight’s readings, I really liked the quote “Instead of replacing these older modes of conversation, online fan communities make more explicit and public the type of activities that fans have long engaged in while in small groups.” While I watch and spread many theories online for the shows I watch, I still actively talk to my friends about them together. Just a few hours ago I sat in Starbucks with a friend discussing Steven Universe. She had just gotten caught up on episodes and we were discussing theories that I normally don’t get to share with friends that aren’t online. I yell at friends about new leaks from episodes yet without the internet these leaks wouldn’t even be possible.

The internet doesn’t just provide new ways to do old activities, it also makes them more public. I wouldn’t have discovered this YouTube series called Khonjin House if I wasn’t as active on social media. This one Instagram account I follow was always posting her art of the characters, which created my interest in discovering who these characters were and what these phrases they were saying meant.

One Response to “U.S. Soap Operas part 2”

  1. I’m glad that you thought they were entertaining! I don’t watch soaps anymore, but I did growing up and also thought they were sometimes interesting or entertaining. Also, I absolutely love the example that you gave. My friends and I also share theories about shows that we watch in person and through the internet.

Leave a Reply

 
