WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

U.S. Soap Operas part 1

Posted by Kimberlea Ferrell on March 6, 2017

I clearly remember one of my grandmothers watching soap operas, but I don’t recall which show or anything that happened. I don’t believe I stuck around in the same room while she watched them. I was intrigued by this section of the class because I knew absolutely nothing about soap operas before now.

I did not know soap operas recasted roles so often. Several actors portraying the same character kind of brought Doctor Who to mind, except with these shows there are several different interpretations of the same person, not a change in personality due to regeneration. I think it’d be interesting to see how so many different actors interpret and portray a character, yet I literally do not have the time to watch the entirety of As The World Turns or any other soap opera. These different portrayals and mannerisms can lead to a discussion of the character. Is this saying something about him or just how this certain actor operates?

Even after learning so little about soap operas, I have a new respect for them. They gained valued characters and their relationships while tackling societal issues, and gained an avid fanbase.

Leave a Reply

 
