WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

The Value of Media Engagement Part 3

Posted by Kimberlea Ferrell on March 1, 2017

I think the term “mothership” should always be used when explaining transmedia. It really depicts it well. All the other segments and content stem from and ultimately lead back to the original, whether it is a television show or a comic series, or anything else.

I think my favorite current piece of transmedia is a Gravity Falls piece called “Soos’ Fanfiction.” A year after the show ended, three 45 second videos were made by the show’s creator depicting short, cute stories about what two characters may be up to now, from the mind of one loveable character named Soos. Fans are still involved in the Gravity Falls community to this day, and these videos were highly appreciated after having such a lack of content when the show ended.

I also loved how Comic Con was mentioned as an important role in launching content. I was reminded of how Cartoon Network showed a special clip to those at a Steven Universe panel at San Diego Comic Con a few years ago. Fans went crazy over the new “character” being introduced. The clip was obviously recorded by some with their phones, and spread to other fans quite rapidly.

I thought I’d leave a link if anyone wants to check the clip out. I really love it.

2 Responses to “The Value of Media Engagement Part 3”

  1. connorfrederick12 said

    I love your posts about Steven Universe as I am a big fan haha. But yes, fans being involved with the creators of the show is a huge part of being a fan in the first place. Transmedia is pretty important to their respective fanbases.

  2. jacobkaraglanis said

    The Steven Universe clip was a very cool touch to this post. I used to have to watch this show with the two kids that I nannied for, and I found it amusing and somewhat satisfying that you were able to give it relevance to our blog topics that we are discussing. I dig it!

Leave a Reply

 
