WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

The Value of Media Engagement Part 2

Posted by lillieeastham on February 26, 2017

While reading this section, I thought about my own viewing habits. As a millennial girl there are a fair amount of shows specifically aimed at me and my demographic.

Mostly, I don’t watch live television, especially since I got a Netflix account, I prefer the ease of watching a particular show when it is convenient for me. However, there have been some exceptions.

When I was in middle school I watched the television show Pretty Little Liars religiously. At the time, the majority of my friends were also addicted to the show so missing an episode meant avoiding spoilers until you were able to catch up. It also meant that my twitter feed was almost exclusively dedicated to the show, making watching it on Tuesday nights a way to bond with my friends without even having to leave my house.

The only show that I currently make an effort to watch live is the Bachelor. I’m not alone, either. When everyone realized that my sororities meetings corresponded with the time the show was on, everyone was devastated. But, my friend has a Hulu account so I’m able to catch up just one day after the show airs. So why do I care about watching it live?

Like Pretty Little Liars, watching The Bachelor is a social experience. I usually update my twitter feeds on commercial breaks, just to see what other people think about what is happening. I also enjoy the many mocking and humorous recaps of the show almost more than I enjoy watching the show itself.

The Bachelor knows that the majority of it’s viewership watches it for the social and almost ironic experience. They blatantly pander to this audience with the over the top editing and are now one of the few live shows left that can maintain viewers for two or more hours a week.

4 Responses to “The Value of Media Engagement Part 2”

  1. cameronbrooks3 said

    I agree but out of all streaming selections the best has to be Hulu, just for the simple fact that once the show airs online it automatically goes on Hulu. Unlike Netflix you basically watch old movies until 2 years later on your device.

  2. Drake Kizer said

    You make a lot of great points in this post, especially about the social aspect of television viewership for millennials. There are so many younger people of our generation that only watch television live so that they can “see what other people think about what is happening” as it is happening. I always know when a football game is on, or the Bachelor, or an awards show because my feed is filled with real-time analysis of what is going on and people’s reactions to it. We are more connected as a culture than ever before, and it’s debatable whether that is a good thing or not.

  3. laurenivey22 said

    I liked that you made the point about Pretty Little Liars. I, too would used to watch the new episode every tuesday night when it came on. I always had a dedicated time for that, and if i had something going on that night i would always DVR it. I am a huge Netflix bum now because i also like having the ability to watch shows when its convienent for me. But i also still watch tv shows, such as Switched at Birth, The Voice, and Dance Moms, whenever they come on their designated nights and times.

  4. emilyjones232 said

    I like how you mentioned the social aspect of watching TV. I watch American Horror Story with a couple of my friends on Wednesday nights and during the commercials we all refresh twitter to see what the other people watching it are saying. It’s just another aspect of the experience.

Leave a Reply

 
