WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Reappraising the Residual

Posted by emilymorgan98 on February 20, 2017

One of the things that caught my attention in this reading is when Paul booth mentioned how that there is a digital gift and that there is not really an obligation to give back. The only obligation that there is, is a membership and people replying back and forth. Reason this stuck out because I frequently watch youtube and the people that I watch are always talking about people commenting to them and how they all love to read through comments and reply back. They have their own little community and they love talking with their fans and are pretty involved.

Another thing that caught my attention was a little bit later where it was mentioned that youtube works together to have something for everyone for any need that there might be. There honestly seems to be no limit to YouTube. I once saw a commercial where they used youtube to show a little boy tying his shoes by watching a youtube video. They did this to show that kids are learning differently now then we used to. I, myself, use youtube for just about everything. I listen to music on it, I watch vlogs and different recreational videos, sometimes, I even use it for something for school whether that be a teacher wanted me to watch a video or two or even if I don’t understand something fully in math and so I youtube it to see if I can find a video that helps explain it. You can find anything and everything on youtube now.

Leave a Reply

 
