WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Where Web 2.0 Went Wrong Pt. 3

Posted by tristendenney14 on February 15, 2017

As I sit and finish the reading for chapter one of Spreadable Media and prepare to write this blog post, I am probably the most confused I have been up to this point in the book. The whole idea of moral economies, gift economies, and hybrid economies has thrown me for a loop. Also, the multiple opinions on commodities, gifts, value, and worth blew my mind as I never realized how different my personal thought on these were. However, to reason through this last section, I feel like a major point relates to how these moral economies, gift economies, and use of testimonials and influencers affect consumers like ourselves through the use of media and Web 2.0. I feel like a large portion of this first chapter boils down to treat others how you want to be treated. Now, although this is a very elementary concept, large companies and influencers today are doing quite the opposite. We consumers are being taken advantage of through the use of “fan labor” or “user-generated content”. Therefore, we must continue to expose companies like Crunchyroll.com and FanLib, and become more like Trent Reznor from Nine Inch Nails. Although society likes to portray the image that the only important things in life today are money and fame, this is completely wrong. It goes back to the concept and section of chapter one titled “Nothing Is Ever Free”, and reminds me of an example in my life. I ride on the WKU Bus System just about every day because it is “free”, but if you think about it, is it really? Somewhere in our student bill we are paying for this service; therefore, this is not a “free” service. Due to scenarios like this, I believe what chapter one ultimately is saying, is that we must refer back to the idea of moral economies and focusing less on “value” and more on “worth” of relationships between others. Moreover, if we continue to not place “worth” on these relationships, what is the ultimate goal of our society, economy, or use of media?

One Response to “Where Web 2.0 Went Wrong Pt. 3”

  1. jacobkaraglanis said

    Dude, I know exactly where you are coming from. Especially when you touched on the “free wku busing system.” I touched on a similar “free” thing that wku does. But both relate perfectly because we end up paying for it somehow, whether it be through tuition or some other means of payment. It’s never free.

Leave a Reply

 
