WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Sharing is Caring

Posted by cameronbrooks3 on February 15, 2017

My overall opinion on sharing music is that I’m one hundread percent okay with it as long as that person doesn’t make any profit off of it. Just think about it we live in a world that just feeds off of social media and music, so why not share it. In all honesty, we should be the one getting paid to not only hear the music l, but as well as letting others hear the songs, playlist, or albums we enjoy. I look at it like advertisement when I think about it, because have you even went on Instagram,Snapchat, or Twitter and someone posts a song they are listening to on there page? If you have that’s like a way of not just sharing music, but getting people to want to hear what song it is. The more we post songs on media, send them to close ones, and just buy our favorite music artists will just get more money and new fans. In the book they use the word selfish for file shares that download music instead of actually paying for what they wanna listen to9, but to me I think that’s smart rather than selfish. Why would I spend money to pay for music if I could get it for free, especially being a college student the last thing I wanna do is buy one song. Just like some people say your not really a fan of a artist if you don’t buy their music. I believe that isn’t fair or true, just because I wanna save money doesn’t mean I’m not a fan it means I’m thinking smarter and not harder.

One Response to “Sharing is Caring”

  1. katemilner9 said

    I do think there’s an argument to be made surrounding the idea of use of copyrighted music as advertisement because, like you said, after hearing a song in the background of a popular video, its rare your first reaction is to give credit to the video creator for it, we always go to look up what it is. I think we’re moving forward here though, as companies are finding ways to still make money without relying on sales of the actual music files, and looking more to money they get from streaming services that want to distribute their music or merchandise sold to support specific artists.

Leave a Reply

 
