WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

“Nothing Is Ever Free”

Posted by emilyjones232 on February 15, 2017

This section of chapter one of Spreadable Media really caught my attention.

I always think it’s awesome and super exciting when a brand or a group has a giveaway. I immediately like, share, comment, etc. to get my hand in the drawing because, hey, it’s free. But as stated in this portion of chapter one, nothing is free, no matter how much we wish things were.

Brands like to give away their products to gain momentum and market their products. For example, I follow many boutiques and stores on social media. Many of those stores post a giveaway every week or so. It never fails I’ll like and comment or whatever the giveaway calls for; alas, I never win. Businesses need something more than the consumer’s money: support. The giveaways are given by the brand at the cost of the customers.

I also like the mentioning of Hulu. I remember when Hulu used to be free and I would watch old episodes of Saturday Night Live. However, I understand why the online television service moved to a program called Hulu Plus. The brand had to compete with Netflix or Amazon Prime. Now, no one is taking their content for “free”. Spotify has a free service, but you can pay for “premium”. Even though the one is not free, brands are throwing their advertisements at you so you’ll eventually buy something. Nothing is free.

Free does not exist in our society. Everything comes with a price, whether it be apparent in the form of money or not.

5 Responses to ““Nothing Is Ever Free””

  1. jasendavis said

    I don’t think I have ever looked at how our consumption is being sold. YouTube sells our views to advertisers , as does television. It is amazing to think of the effect that viewership and support of consumers has on so many other entities.

  2. laurenivey22 said

    I totally agree with the point you made about Hulu and Hulu Plus. I made a very similar point with Pandora and Spotify and how they both have higher offering apps which are constantly being advertised on their lower offering apps. These ads eventually make the person want to purchase the higher offering apps which means that in all actuality the app wasn’t free because it eventually made you want to buy a different one.

  3. marylennoxhalf said

    I was interested in the section about Hulu as well. There was a competition between it and other online streaming sites. While I did not realize at the time the impact this free tv was making, I am now able to understand the use of paying for forms of entertainment instead of getting it for free.

  4. emilyfalicaa said

    I love your explanation of streaming sites and I agree with Lauren’s comment on how it makes you buy things eventually. But then it comes down to the other price you can pay. I am super cheap and refuse to pay to take away the ads. So while I don’t pay the monetary price, I have to suffer through the agony of ads. I pay with my frustration

  5. tommistowers said

    Your post caught my eye because I too follow stores on social media. Every time a store post some sort of advertisement it makes me want to buy the new item. Overtime, I will buy something from that store because stores constantly add new clothing and show new advertisement. Good Job!

Leave a Reply

 
