WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

2/14 Spreadable Media pages

Posted by marylennoxhalf on February 15, 2017

Nothing comes for free. This concept, although it seems obvious, has been a new realization throughout the past decades. With internet coming out and becoming part of everyone’s daily life, people can have many things at a click of a button. In the book Spreadable Media, this topic is brought up and dissected. Hulu, which is mentioned in the book, used to be free, and many people could stream television shows quickly without charge. While since, Hulu requires you to pay for these services, there was a time, not too long ago, that it was not. A similar situation for me, is my daily gossip site called “The Skimm.” I was introduced to this app/website about a year ago. It was a way for me to see all the things that were happening in the world each day. I loved looking at the app, and it was easy for me to keep tabs on what was going on each day. A few months later, I found another news app that I preferred, so I stopped using “The Skimm,” and began using my new Refinery21 app. Recently, I was interested in downloading the previous app, and using that in addition to my Refinery21 app. While signing on, I realized what used to be free was now asking me for my credit card. I couldn’t believe I was going to have to pay to get my daily gossip. Maybe it is because I am cheap, or maybe I don’t need that app to survive, I was quick to dismiss the app. I was not going to pay for news, when I can get it for free! A similar circumstance is the Kardashian’s app. You pay a monthly charge to, literally, Keep up with the Kardashians. Each time things cost money, that I can actually live without, I am upset that it is necessary to purchase it. I understand the concept, and the saying, “There’s no such thing as a free lunch,” I just want my daily gossip for free. Like Hulu, “The Skimm,” and the Kardashians, the creators make it impossible to get to the information without paying. While years ago, you could really do almost anything online without entering your credit card number.

Leave a Reply

 
