WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

They Live (1/31)

Posted by sydneyb612 on February 13, 2017

They Live

Okay where do I even begin on this movie. When this movie started I honestly had no idea what to expect. There is a homeless man walking around with a weird looking haircut is all I could think at first. As the movie progressed I was a little disinterested at first because it was sort of slow in the beginning. As the movie picked up though it was a whirlwind of events. When the main character found the glasses and all those secrets in that church, I was just like, wow, this took a weird turn.

Everything about this movie though took me back to my junior year in high school though. I took a current issues class. This was when the winter Olympics were going on. We spent most of that class talking about the advertisements and media that went along with the Olympics. My teacher back then was very set on and convinced that the media was all one big trick and a lie. I thought he was sort of crazy at first, but as the class progressed I understood how right he was. Watching this movie just reminded me of everything we talked about in that class.

People trying to control how and what we think is sort of creepy when you think about it, but you also realize it is something really going on every day in the world around us. There are people out there trying to constantly pick apart our brains and figure out what’s going on in every person’s head. Was it really like this is the 1980’s? Has this really been going on a lot longer than anyone really knows? I can’t answer those questions, but maybe throughout this class those questions might be answered.

Leave a Reply

 
