WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Why Media Spreads Part 1 (1/26)

Posted by sydneyb612 on February 13, 2017

Spreadable Media Intro

So, for my initial blog post I read Why Media Spreads instead of the other reading, because I was confused, which is not out of the norm for me. So, for this blog post I’m going to write about the other original article we had to read. In this reading, there was something I was thinking about the whole time, what goes on in the minds of people who create big news media? I have always just been a person who watches stuff and just shrugs it off or forgets what I just watched two seconds later. So, what really goes on in the minds of people who create the media?

What I got from this is there is a lot that goes into how media is made and who it is directed towards, but what is this “scientific method” people who create the media use. I have so many questions. How do they decide the age group or gender products or advertisements are directed to? How do they decide what music or celebrities they use for certain advertisements? When and how did memes become a thing? This is just such a big concept to wrap my head around. I have more questions than answers after reading the first part of this book. This reading makes me feel like I do not keep up with the media enough in my life. I just feel like life is busy and there are so many things going on already, how do people keep up with the world around them? Anyways, as the class goes on I hope to keep up with what’s going on and learn how to have a better understanding.

Leave a Reply

 
