WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Secondhand Clothing

Posted by marylennoxhalf on February 13, 2017

The article I was most interested in was the one about Secondhand Clothing. I was interested in learning more about the transition of clothing throughout the years. From servants getting old shirts from masters, and clothing passed down through mothers and daughters. I normally just thought of secondhand clothing as Goodwill. When I was younger, I did not like to go in there. I would rather go to Target or the mall to shop. As I have gotten older, I realize how snobby that sounds, and have found many nice things at Goodwill. The problem with Goodwill, is that the company is given these articles of clothing for free, and tend to increase the price quite a bit. When giving clothing to Goodwill or stores like it, your clothes can end up anywhere. While it might end up in your town, it could also end up in another city, state, or country. Clothing can be different all around the world, but easily can be interpreted and used in other places as well. Clothing is something you do not usually think of being a cultural thing, in that styles and even an article of clothing can go through many owners, and end up in a different all around place. Maybe there is someone in Asia wearing a WKU shirt, simply because they found it.

One Response to “Secondhand Clothing”

  1. kaufmansw said

    I also thought of Goodwill when I was younger when it came to 2nd hand clothing. I don’t feel like Goodwill jacks up their prices as high as they could. I buy dress shirts there for 7-8 bucks that retail at $70.00. Clothing has become a quite cultural.

Leave a Reply

 
