WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Where Web 2.0 Went Wrong Pt.2

Posted by tristendenney14 on February 8, 2017

After reading part of Chapter 1 of Spreadable Media entitled “Where Web 2.0 Went Wrong”, as usual, I had to sit and contemplate the main points and what I wanted to talk about in my blog. However, the main topic for this blog was pretty simple to determine as I thought back to a conversation I had with my uncle a few years ago. Just a quick backstory on my uncle, he is a songwriter for Warner/Chappell Nashville, so this conversation is necessary due to his constant process of creating “user-generated content” in music. Back to the conversation, we were discussing downloading music and the many ways this can be done. Although there are many ways one can download any type of music for free, some of these illegal, he said he always believes in purchasing this music so you give credit to the songwriters, producers, and others involved in the production process. Now although this may not always be the most ideal situation for one, I believe this is an important example referring to a “moral economy”, and since this day I have always purchased my music through iTunes. Now I use this example not to brag on myself or my uncle, but to paint a clearer picture for someone who may not quite understand what a moral economy is. I believe the point of a moral economy is to construct a society where everyone is given credit for their work or contribution to something. Spreadable Media contains a great quote regarding moral economies. This quote states, “All participants need to feel that the parties involved are behaving in a morally appropriate fashion.” Another example of this today is the use of memes. Though one person may start a popular meme, some transform into different meanings and even other memes. Therefore, the moral of the story is, to create a moral economy, those who deserve credit for a piece of work must be given this, and if someone decides to create or modify this piece of work, these changes need to be done morally to “engage” rather than “exploit” someone’s work.

Leave a Reply

 
