WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Where Web 2.0 Went Wrong 2.0

Posted by emilychildress329 on February 8, 2017

After reading “Where Web 2.0 Went Wrong” I couldn’t help but stop and think. I went back and read some different parts over again to fully understand the topic at hand. Personally, I find it hard to believe that YouTube that is failing.

I remember being younger and obsessed with make up and that is what started my craze with Youtube. I was introduced to a beauty guru named Blair Fowler that had what I thought was just about every make up product in the world and every color. I would constantly find myself on Youtube for hours at a time searching through videos of hers that I had never seen before. This is why it is so shocking to me. Blair Fowler has millions of subscribers, and I know that she is not the only one. There are many accounts out there that have more subscribers than that and it blows my mind. I always thought that Youtube was so successful because of the many people that watched it every single day. The higher up you are in the Youtube world, the more likely you are willing to get paid. You would think that with the audience the way it is Youtube would be far more luxurious than any other site.

 

2 Responses to “Where Web 2.0 Went Wrong 2.0”

  1. Kimberlea Ferrell said

    The amount of people that use Youtube on a daily basis could be a reason that it continues even though it is struggling. People enjoy and depend on the website.

  2. laurenivey22 said

    I also find it extremely hard to believe that YouTube is failing. It has always been such a successful business, and I couldnt imagine my childhood without it. From watching makeup tutorials, to “Charlie Bit My Finger.” It was always the go to. I believe that maybe if YouTube makes some improvements to its site such as making it more accessable or being able to do other things while you listen to the music or watch videos would make it more successful.

Leave a Reply

 
