WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Web 2.0 Part Two

Posted by Kimberlea Ferrell on February 8, 2017

A part that stuck out to me from today’s readings was the section “Stolen Content or Exploited Labor?” I’ll once again be using the example of Steven Universe. Several times episodes have leaked early, being uploaded to websites and sometimes even on Youtube. Recently, a section of episodes were released early, and one of the composers for Steven Universe, Aivi Tran, took to Twitter to say that “Every time you watch a leaked episode, I don’t get paid for my music.” While being upset is perfectly understandable, many fans were angered that she would blame them for watching the episodes, when they did not intentionally plan to hurt her. A great number of fans aren’t able to watch the show as it airs or don’t have access to cable, so they tend to watch illegally. This is a very tricky subject, as fans aren’t directly supporting the show, but then again how much are they really hurting it? After this incident, a Youtuber I watch urged other fans to support the show any way they could, perhaps by buying merchandise.

I’ve also realized that copyright infringement could be applied to much of the fan content I watch. I tend to forget that. Most of the videos I see, called “edits,” are only clips from episodes with transitions set to music, which would be copyright as well. They’ve used others’ content to make their own creation.

3 Responses to “Web 2.0 Part Two”

  1. laurenivey22 said

    I totally agree with you when you make the point about some people not having cable, or access to a tv, so they have to watch it illegally on a device, or how some people don’t even realize they are watching it illegally. I think it was unfair of Steven Universe to blame its fans for them losing money, when some of them didn’t even realize it. Its a difficult subject.

  2. emilyjones232 said

    I agree that we tend to forget sometimes when we consume content, it is through illegal means. I would go as far to say that many people have watched or listened to something illegally. We don’t realize we’re taking money from the creator.

  3. vene131 said

    I definitely agree that it is sometimes hard to watch Tv shows live so sometimes watching them illegally is the only option. But I can understand where the artist is coming from because the less live views a TV show get the more likely it is to get cancelled. So that is totally a morally ambiguous topic.

Leave a Reply

 
