WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

They Live Review

Posted by tristendenney14 on February 1, 2017

To be completely honest, I do not know where to start with this blog. They Live is definitely one of the more odd or confusing movies I have ever seen. In the beginning of the movie, I expected George Nada, also known as Roddy Piper, and Frank Armitage, also known as Keith David, to be two lower class men depicting how people in this era “lived” and worked their way up through the ranks of society. However, after watching this film, I have never been more wrong about something in my life. I guess I actually should never judge a book, or movie in this case, by its cover. In my opinion, I began to suspect something suspicious when George discovered the hidden room filled with cardboard boxes, later to find these boxes contained sunglasses. This is another point I completely missed. I once again assumed that the men producing these sunglasses were not guilty, and I still do not know if they were “guilty” for showing George and Frank an “alternate society” where these alienated zombie humans were against them. But the craziness and confusion does not stop there. The fight scene between George and Frank, kidnapping of the assistant television producer, killing of multiple people, and random nude scene near the end of the movie only continued to baffle me. This film somewhat reminded me of YouTube compilations where your goal is not to laugh because some scenes of this movie nearly had me cracking up. On the other hand, I do believe this movie does have a relevant point for society. Everything in life is not always true or the way it seems, so one must not get distracted by other people’s decisions. This does not mean you have to wear trippy sunglasses that cause headaches, or form a secret alliance against these beings; however, you must always stay aware of your surroundings and not always conform to the status quo. Therefore, the moral of the story is, as crazy as this movie was to me, I truly enjoyed it and found a connection to modern day life.

4 Responses to “They Live Review”

  1. cameronbrooks3 said

    I’m not going to lie at first I didn’t expect for this movie to turn out the way it did, but I do believe it relate to society today. My reasoning for this is because the human race is blinded over material thing like nice cars, expensive clothes and much more and they use these things to entertain us to ignore what is really going on in the world and not to think about problems that America as a whole is going through.

  2. Kimberlea Ferrell said

    I felt the same way. I just expected the movie to be about the elite dominating the poor, I didn’t expect the alien things. It does relate to our world today though, minus the aliens.

  3. laurenivey22 said

    I totally agree. AT first I did not understand the plot of this story and was genuinely confused. I believed it had something to do with the police obstucting the poor and how the poor could only get by by making making meth.. (yes i thought the church was a meth lab). But then it turned out to be something so much more eye opening. It really helped to show just how far we have come today, with this film being based in the 90’s which was the begininng of individual thought and free-will.

  4. jacobkaraglanis said

    Bro, this movie had both of us dying. And I was in the same boat as you, for the longest time I had absolutely no clue what was up. And those random nude scenes and what not were pretty strange. Overall a weird movie.

Leave a Reply

 
